20
Aug
09

Rev. FR. BETRAND – FATIMA STUDENTS LOVES YOU

Picture1

Photo courtesy: Mr. Pravin Kushe
I remember Father;

Our dear Father,
We all, remember you together;

Every morning, before prayers,
At the school gate, you are found;
In our sleep you hound, if late,
You will throw us out;

In first short recess,
You watch & assess,Picture2
Our shorts are long,
The tie we tie, not know the knot,

In Lunch break,

At the school gate, you are found,
No slippers, black shoes, both boys & girls;
It was a shock!
Boys wear black and why girls’ socks are white?

After lunch, he is on the round,
To keep silence we are bound,Picture3
He walks like a bull-dog, slow & tight
If he is on first, even second floor gets quiet;

School bell rungs;
But nobody can run,
Different Q of boys & girls,
Still we miss; can’t flirt with girls;

Our dear father,
We all, remember you together,
We hate you less and love you more.
We walk on the path, you have shown;

LONG LIVE FATHER BETRAND !

Please share your memories in the comment box, we will try to make him read


48 Responses to “Rev. FR. BETRAND – FATIMA STUDENTS LOVES YOU”


  1. 1 Haresh Bhatia
    August 20, 2009 at 9:59 am

    It would have been more live with Father in original dress and stick in hand

  2. 3 Anupam
    August 21, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    Hi Yogesh,

    Please could you provide me with the Father’s contact details. Myself and another Fatimaite are currently studying at MIT, Boston and just a few days ago were discussing our school and Father.

    Thanks
    Anupam

    • 4 dawdayogesh
      August 22, 2009 at 8:45 am

      Thank you for your comments, I had a via contact of father, only I can tell you at present he is in Mangalore, please give me you email id – I will give you further updates, you take care and do well.

  3. August 21, 2009 at 6:36 pm

    I almost did not recognize Father. It is so great to catch up on him. Yes, he did look so much more austere in his cassock. And in my ear, I can still hear him teach the poem “Tiger, Tiger burning bright….” in our Tenth grade English class…

    Wow! We were indeed fortunate to have been taught by him. He was so passionate about what he did. And I still remember always looking forward to his class because it was a lot of fun.

    Thanks for sharing the pics and keep the memories coming.

    • 6 dawdayogesh
      August 22, 2009 at 8:43 am

      Thank you for your comments, it is so wonderful going back to the memories of our school days, please send me your email id – for futher updates

  4. 7 Mathew Abraham
    August 22, 2009 at 2:47 am

    Wow! Its so nice to see atleast his pictures. I haven’t seen him in years. I passed out in 1982 (10-A). He was one of the best teachers I ever had. Are there any more of his pictures on the web? Any contact information?

    – Mathew

    • 8 dawdayogesh
      August 22, 2009 at 8:40 am

      thank you for your comments, I am planning to invite him thru one of my friend, I will update you, please send me your email id – you take care!!

  5. 9 PRAVIN KUSHE
    August 22, 2009 at 7:37 am

    I am grateful to Fatima High School for what I am today. our teachers n father had taken lot of efforts to make us good human beings. Rev Fr Betrand is the BEST . I never felt so when I was studying in school, but now I realise that he was strict to make our future a better one . I thank my parents for giving me a oppurtunity to study at FHS.

  6. 11 anthony
    August 22, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    Hi Yogesh
    Your blog is interesting – especially, the poem (PO’M) as Fr used to say ..not Pohyem!
    He was a terror no doubt, but i guess it was good for all of us…
    Keep writing and provide us insight if you get more info on Fr.
    Take care
    Anthony
    1982 batch (10-D)

  7. 13 Mathew Abraham
    August 23, 2009 at 2:41 am

    Mathew Abraham
    mat_ab@hotmail.com

  8. 15 SAMIR ASHAR
    August 23, 2009 at 4:00 am

    I am very much grateful to you for pictures of our dear father, fatima high school for what i am today and Rev. Fr. Bertrand for grooming us and the discipline in me, it was nice to see his pictures. I and my wife RUPA ASHAR (KAPANI) are his student from Xth A 1986. i remember his first period after the short recess of english. he had such a towering personality. I still remember his each and everything what he said and taught us. As i used to stay nearby our school in Cama Lane i used to see him always mostly in evening when he used to go walking.please keep me updated about father. what is his age now and where is he and how is he.
    Thanks
    SAMIR ASHAR

    • 16 dawdayogesh
      August 23, 2009 at 9:14 am

      thank you for your comments – at the moment father is at Mangalore, I dont have any direct contact with him, but trying to invite him to our school or any other venue, I will update you if anythings developes – take care

  9. 17 Marcus
    August 23, 2009 at 1:23 pm

    Thanks a lot. The photos does give me a bit of remembrance and memories of Fr. Bernard. I do not remember much of him now nearing 50, But remember one particular incident when one of the students tried to hit him with a hockey stick for not giving him leave to go to pilgrimage trip.Of course once He had hit me with his cane on the palm and after leaving the office as per system I did say Thank you father. This was made a big joke in the class after the monitor told the class teacher. Not much to remember on him.

  10. August 23, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    Hey Yogesh,

    Thanks for bringing me back to memory lane, well our loving principal Fr.bernard was a mentor to many of us, who could only hate his strict ways in our schooling days, but as time has passed by, he is fondly remembered by many of us.. In fact I tell my daughter many times as to how he disciplined my life, I have had some worst experiences from him, he gave me a chop of hair cut once, hit me several times with a duster, knelt me down outside the class several times, but at times I could see him smile softly from far away, whenever we crossed eyes..

    And wow , what a great hockey player he was, very rarely did he come to play with us, but was fortunate enough to have him play with us, hats off to him, am sure many will agree he has been a mentor of our life’s in many ways…

    Wherever he is… May the good lord bless and him give him good health.

    • 20 dawdayogesh
      August 23, 2009 at 6:01 pm

      thank you for ur comments and sharing your memories with us, I think most of us didn’t knew that he was an hockey player, wow, thats a news – take care

  11. 21 Sabita Braganza nee Aranha
    August 24, 2009 at 4:45 am

    Hi Everyone,

    This was a real great initiative to set us on memory path. I just met with 6 others of my batch of 1984 for the 1st time since we left school 25 years back on August 22, 2009 and it was a real grand reunion. We actually relived our school days and 1 of the topic of discussion was our dear principal – all of us did agree that we were all priviledged to have him as our principal and he was the best. Yes at that time we did feel he was way too strict, and we were glad to get out of school after tenth with wings (his favourite comment for the xth Std). But now that we have passed out and are facing the world & having children of our own, we know it was all done with good intentions so that we do well in life. None of us actually said thankyou to him, but Yogesh if you do connect with him, do say “A Big Thank You” on behalf of all of us.

    I think he is in Mangalore presently. Information I got from one of the sites. I didnt know this earlier otherwise I would have met up with him on my yearly trips to Mangalore. But the next time I go, will definitely meet up with him.

    I think this is his address:

    Fr Bertrand Dcunha
    St.Anne’s Friary
    Jail Road
    Kodialbail Post
    Bejai
    Mangalore- 575 003
    Karnataka, India.

    Tel: +91-0824-2496733

    (Hie Joachim this is Sabita, hope you remember, connect with me on either orkut or facebook)

    Rgds

    Sabita Braganza nee Aranha

    • 22 dawdayogesh
      August 24, 2009 at 5:20 am

      Thank you for your comments, appriciate ur concern, if any of us locate him and then we all will inform eachother, also I will try the contact on the no. u mentioned, take care

  12. 23 MALAY.G.GANDHI
    August 24, 2009 at 6:13 am

    Yogesh Uncle,

    Thanks a ton for this wonderful PIC of our dearest Fr.Bertrand. Whatever i am today its just cause of him, his discipline and the other side his sweet smile….can never forget him and will always love him and shall be in my heart forever.

    Regards,

    MALAY.G.GANDHI

  13. 25 Sapna. Bhatia (Chheda)
    August 24, 2009 at 7:16 am

    Hi,
    I really appreciate your initiative Yogesh ,and thanks a lot for letting us see our dear father .I am from the 1986 batch and father was our class teacher as we were in 10th A ,he thaught us english and the way he narrated poems and prose , the feeling was magical and so easy to picture the whole scene .I would be honoured if i could get a glimpse of Father ,however if you can convey to him that we love and respect him for what he made out of us ,through his discipline and love .
    Thanks and regards
    Sapna .

    • 26 dawdayogesh
      August 24, 2009 at 8:45 am

      Thanks for sharing your wonderful memories of our school and best Principal, If I will meet him I will make him read all these messages – take care

  14. 27 Himanshu Asher
    August 24, 2009 at 11:48 am

    Dear Yogesh,

    At the outset, a very big Thank you for your initiative.
    Fr. Bertrand !! The name still does sends a chill down our spines.You know I instinctively stiffned at seeing his photographs. What a man !

    Who can forget his assemblies, his rounds, his teaching, his eye for detail, his commitment towards the poor students fund, his instistance on our speakng only in English (ohh ! those 50 paise fines did burn a hole in the pocket then) , and that cane (which I have been on the receiving end on many an occassion… now for which I am thankfull to our dear Reverand Father, but for which I might not be what I am today).

    Though frankly I used to loathe his strict ways then, I now realise this was done with a view of preparing us for life. The values and sense of discilpline and hard work imbibed in us then has stood us in good stead, I am sure.

    I lot of Fatima High School still remains in us, thanks to Fr. Bertrand. I pray to God to give him all happiness in life.

    (My daughter studies in Fatima High School.No other school but the best school in this whole world ie our Alma Mater FHS.)

    I would also like make a mention of our Fr. Herbert, the head master of the Primary section, who I heard passed away.. May his soul rest in peace..

    Also does anyone know where Fr. Canute is ??

    Thanks once again Yogesh.. It was wonderfull re living those wonderfull memories.

    Warm regards,

    Himanshu Asher

  15. 29 Ramya Kandiyoor
    August 25, 2009 at 12:36 pm

    Hey Yogesh,

    Gr8 initiative on ur part to share Fr Bertands pics. I am from the 1990 batch and remember him as a strict disciplinarian and also a great teacher…..

    Do convey our love and respect to him if you should get in touch with him and mention we really thank him for all the values he so passionately taught us.

    regards
    Ramya

  16. 31 Priyadarshini Kannan nee Iyengar
    August 29, 2009 at 4:05 pm

    Bless whoever has done this…allowed us a rare glimpse of Father…
    I still have tears in my eyes…

    i do remember his cassock,his burly frame silhouetted against our long corridor, his ominous stride when he was on his walks…but then what i remember even more vividly is his impish smile which used to light up his eyes…& if one was lucky enough to be the reason for that smile,then, well, one’s day was made!!!

    Father,never really got a chance to say this, & this is one chance i dont want to miss…THANK YOU…in the humblest of ways…thank you,for making us what we are;good,honest citizens of the world…

    Today, i am a teacher myself…& i must tell u sir,somewhere in my psyche,you definitely played a big & positive role in making me aware of the effect a good teacher can have in a young impressionable child’s mind .

    Bless you sir….more power to you….

    • 32 dawdayogesh
      August 29, 2009 at 5:00 pm

      hi priyadashini, you bought tears in my eyes too, try to teach your student what you have learned from Rev.Fr.Bertrand, God Bless you!!!

  17. 33 Uma Aiyer (Krishnamurthy)
    August 30, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Always have carried pleasant memories of times in School…both under Rev Fr Herbert and Rev Fr Bertand.

    Sill remember vividly the pin drop silence in X A (1985) when he explained “The solitary Reaper” ..
    “Behold her, single in the field,
    Yon solitary Highland Lass!”…his clear voice is still ringing in my ears…simply stunning!

    Thanks Yogesh, for giving us an opportunity to share our thoughts.

    Regards
    Uma

  18. 35 Kameshwari
    August 30, 2009 at 7:40 am

    It’s been so long since I left school, that it was great reading all the comments that bring back so many memories. From the day, my sister & me stood for admission in front of Fr Bertrand to the day I left school, he was a big influence on our lives….both in & out. Like most other people, my fondest memories are of him teaching English “Po’m”s…

    May God bless him & I hope he gets to read all the great comments made by people. Thank you Father.

  19. 37 Subhash Nair
    September 4, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    I am pretty sure Fr. Bertrand’s birthday is on October 9th. If my memory is correct, I believe all the students contributed a nominal amount and then everyone ate ice-cream for lunch on his birthday.

  20. 39 NALINI VIRA (nee CHHEDA)
    September 5, 2009 at 6:42 pm

    Thanks Yogesh, for the efforts in getting us the darshan of our Rev Fr Bertrand D’cunha!

    Today is TEACHERS’ DAY and I feel indebted for what I am today to this greatest of all teachers in my life.

    In 1982, he walked into my clinic one day and invited me to be the chief guest and inaugurate the School Parliament. What humility! The principal of the most coveted school in our area personally inviting one of his past students (who had just graduated from the medical school)which he could have very well done over the telephone. I have never felt more honoured!

    While introducing me to the students & teachers(may of whom had already taught me), he literally put me on a pedastal.I vividly remember my Aarti being performed, receiving the guard of honour, sitting on stage besides our magnanimous principal,being photographed in numerous moods on stage and in his impressive office and being gifted those pictures in an album form for posterity……Till date I cherish those special moments and the photographs that have captured them for me.I’ll soon scan some of them and

    I have been among those few lucky ones who had the opportunity and the privilege of being accompanied to Inter school Elocutions and other such events by none other than Rev Fr himself.

    My bond with FHS is special ’cause not only my siblings, my only daughter Riddhi too studied there.I met Rev Fr Bertrand a couple of years back at the Fatima friary and on impulse I touched his feet. That’s what he has been…. a Teacher God… Guru devo bhava…

    Father, we have had a few reunions with our batchmates of 1975(XI STD). There were two batches in that year-the last of the XI std and the first of the Xth std. But I am looking forward to that reunion with you in the midst of all of us whose lives you have touched so beautifully & meaningfully.

    I fondly remember Rev Fr Patrick, Rev Fr Canute D’Costa, Mr.Malcolm Gomes(who directed beautiful plays like Only a rose etc..,) Vincent Sir, Mrs Chawla, Mrs Murthy, Mrs Abraham, Mrs Naiampally, Mr Benedict D’ Costa,Mr. Alexander Fonseca, Mr Jadhav, Mr Pawaskar(the art master), Mr Rampal Singh & Mr D R Singh, – the Hindi shikshaks, Mrs Dave, Mrs Vaidya, Mrs Lilavati Sunder and many more……….A million thanks to you my dear teachers & A HAPPY TEACHERS’ DAY.Do bless us from wherever you are….

    NALINI VIRA(CHHEDA)-1975 Batch

    • 40 dawdayogesh
      September 7, 2009 at 1:47 pm

      hi nalini,
      Thank you for sharing your memories with all of us, by wrting the names of our teachers, you put me down th memory lane, I remember them too, I also remember Vidu teacher, which u missed, anyway keep well

  21. 41 NALINI VIRA (nee CHHEDA)
    September 5, 2009 at 7:12 pm

    Yogesh, I have sent a card for Rev Fr Bertrand on your email on behalf of all of us, his students. Could you please upload the same on your blog or direct it to him?

    NALINI VIRA(Chheda)1975 Batch

  22. 42 sheela Lobo(Karkhanis)
    September 9, 2009 at 8:35 pm

    Hey,

    It was a pleasure seeing picture of Fr. Bethere.Thanks a lot. what a personality!
    I have a lot of memories of father, specially the one with a cane in his hand he use waitnear the steps to catch us when we are late and to see the girls uniforms were long upto the knees, and boys hair cut short.
    Accumalated all the naughty ones in a class called Xl A (I was one of them) and he took over as the class teacher. The way he use to talk and walk in the corridors asking each child what he was doing out of class.An eye for every detail. It is because of Fr.Betrand our school stands where it is now. God Bless Fr. Betrand and please keep me informed about his whereabouts and his email id.Thanks once again Yogesh.

    Would be happy if i could get the email id of Fr. Canute.He too was an amazing priest.

  23. 44 sheela Lobo(Karkhanis)
    September 9, 2009 at 8:40 pm

    Hey,

    It was a pleasure seeing picture of Fr. Betrand.Thanks a lot. what a personality!
    the memories i have of father, specially the one with a cane in his hand he use wait near the steps to catch us when we are late and to see the girls uniforms were long upto the knees, and boys hair cut short.
    Accumalated all the naughty ones in a class called Xl A (I was one of them) and he took over as the class teacher. The way he use to talk and walk in the corridors asking each child what he was doing out of class.An eye for every detail. It is because of Fr.Betrand our school stands where it is now. God Bless Fr. Betrand and please keep me informed about his whereabouts and his email id.Thanks once again Yogesh.

    Would be happy if i could get the email id of Fr. Canute.He too was an amazing priest.

  24. 45 Padma Sengupta
    September 13, 2009 at 2:17 pm

    This does bring fond memories.. He was an extraordinary teacher and I was privileged to be in his X-A class. I remember he came home after my 10th results and presented me with Money Changers by Arthur Hailey. To this day, I recall his thoughtfulness. And my surprise at the choice of the book !!

  25. 46 dawdayogesh
    September 13, 2009 at 2:37 pm

    Hi Padma,

    Nice to hear from you and thanks for sharing your lovely memories, you may use the same link and go to title REV.FR.BERTRAND CONTACT DETAILS you find his email ID please post him the mail he will love to reply your mails – thanks keep well

  26. 47 mohammed zafar shaikh
    January 14, 2010 at 8:33 am

    Thanks a lot for bringing back all the memories of fatima high school, our father our teachers our school has made us what we r today.

  27. 48 Ulka Kulkarni
    August 1, 2010 at 4:44 pm

    Thanks a lot for connecting me to my past. Beautiful childhood memories buried down in the day to day rush came back frolicking and giving me a much needed boost.

    FHS cultivated not only discipline which has stood me in good stead all my life but also inculcated the habit of reading appreciation of arts and sports. All Thanks to Fr Bertrand.

    I came from Auxillium Convent and joined FHS in the IVth Std in the year 1970. I was there till VIIIth Std i.e upto 1975. Then my father shifted to Nasik. Of the three schools FHS has the largest share of moulding my personality. The discipline, values and principles that are ingrained in me are Thanks to FHS particularly Fr Bertrand who was epitome of all the values, principles and discipline that he expected from us.

    His image on the hockey field is etched on my mind just as his strict refusal to my request for a half day leave. I wish I can meet him some day. Just to say Thanks

    In the meantime Thanks to you.


Leave a comment


yogesh dawda

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 15 other subscribers